Ministerial Office Ministerial Decision Report



General Information	
Ministerial Decision Type	Appointment
Report Title	Jersey Architecture Commission membership (2024 to 2026)
Minister	Environment
Signatory	Minister
Lead Department	Strategic Policy, Planning and Performance (SP3)
Lead Directorate	Strategy and Innovation (SP3)
Ministerial Decision Summary: Public or <u>Absolutely/Qualified</u> Exempt	Public Select if more than one Absolutely/Qualified Exemption.
Date decision made if different to date 'Ministerial Decision Summary' signed.	09/12/2024
Report and Supplemental Report Details	
Report Author	Head of Place and Spatial Planning
Date of Report	31/12/2024
Supplementary Report Title (If applicable)	Jersey Architecture Commission membership 2024 to 2026
Supplementary Report Author (If applicable)	Executive Officer, JAC
Date of Supplementary Report (If applicable)	06/12/2024 Select Date of Supplemental Report.
Ministerial Decision Report: Public or <u>Absolutely/Qualified</u> Exempt	Public Select if more than one Absolutely/Qualified Exemption.
Relevant Case/Application/URN (Only complete if making a decision related to an appeal/case/application)	n/a
Relevant Proposition Number (Only complete if presenting Comments or if lodging an Amendment)	n/a
Relevant Scrutiny Report (Only complete if presenting a ministerial response)	n/a
Associated Law(s) and/or Subordinate Legislation	Article 17 of the Planning and Building (Jersey) Law 2002
Action required if recommendation agreed	Department to take necessary action to reappoint existing commissioners; and to progress appointment of further commissioners in due course



Resource Implications

There are no new financial and/or manpower implications.

Introduction

The Jersey Architecture Commission has been in place since 2012. There is an ongoing need to consider the membership of the Commission, the position of its Chairperson, and accept two resignations.

Commission appointments

The Commission is made up of eleven formally appointed commissioners, ten of whom are available to support design reviews/surgeries.

As the term of office of all commissioners has expired each has been approached to confirm their willingness to continue to serve on the Commission. All have agreed, except Johanna Gibbons and Chris Twinn, who have both tendered their resignations.

It is proposed that the term of office of those commissioners willing to continue in the role is extended to September 2026.

Chairperson

Lynne Sullivan has been the Chairperson since June 2023 and is willing to continue as such until 2026.

Recommendation

That the Minister: (a). agree to formally appoint eight of the existing commissioners; and to continue to reserve the commissioner on call for feasibility and development economics advice to September 2026; (b). endorse the appointment of Lynne Sullivan as Chair of the Commission to September 2026; and (c). await a further report on the proposed appointment of further commissioners in early 2025.